Security policies - overview

Article author
James
  • Updated

This article covers security policies, permissions, access denied messages and how to troubleshoot them.

Please click the links below to jump to the following sections:

What are policies?

You may have noticed that when adding a patient in Meddbase, you are given the option to set a 'policy' (also known as a 'certificate'). You are given a similar option whenever you add a company, document, clinician, or non-medical staff member to Meddbase.

 

The policy you select defines what actions different users can and can't perform with that patient, company, document, clinician, or non-medical staff member. For example, the policy might define that doctors can view and edit the patient's medical record, but receptionists can only view the patient's demographic data.

You may have one policy for VIP patients, which restricts visibility to a select group of users, and another policy for regular patients, which are visible to all staff. If this is the case, you will have more than one policy to pick from when adding a new patient.

Creating policies 

In order to create a new policy (certificate) for a user or role, navigate to 'Security Policy' page (Start Page > Admin > Security Policy) and click the 'Add Certificates' button.

mceclip1.png

You will be prompted to choose which certificate type you would like to add, select the type and your new certificate will be created.

Renaming policies

In order to reman a policy (certificate) navigate to the 'Security Policy' page (Start Page > Admin > Security Policy) and find the policy you are looking to rename, click on it and bring up the policy details.

In the top left corner, you will find a box labelled 'Policy'. Change the name of your policy here. Any changes will be saved automatically.

Removing policies

In order to remove a policy (certificate) navigate to the 'Security Policy' page (Start Page > Admin > Security Policy) and find the policy you are looking to remove, click on it and bring up the policy details.

With the policy highlighted, click the 'Delete' button on the top bar - you will be prompted to confirm this action. Confirming will proceed with the action.

Please be aware that once a policy is deleted, it cannot be restored and will instead need to be recreated.

Where do I set permissions for each policy?

Permissions are set under Admin > Security policy.

Each entity type in Meddbase has one or more certificates (policies) associated with it. You can see which certificates an entity type has by clicking the + icon next to each one:

Each certificate defines what different users or role groups can do with the patient, company, document, clinician, or non-medical staff member assigned to it.

 

Click on a certificate to see which users and role groups have access to it.

Each certificate has an owner, which by default is the System Administrators role group. Only the owner can make changes to the certificate.

 

Click on a user or role group within the Permitted Users, Roles and Networks column to see what permissions they have for that certificate.

Permissions can be granted, denied, or neither granted or denied. If a permission is granted, it means the user or role group has the right to perform that action. If a permission is denied, the user or role group will sees a message like the following when they attempt to perform the action:

 

 

This means that the permission is denied, either for them as an individual or for a role group they belong to. For example, this message will appear when a user without the right to modify patient demographics attempts to change a patient's details.

If a permission is neither granted nor denied, it will be denied, unless it is granted for another role group the user belongs to.

What happens if a user clicks 'request access'?

If a user clicks 'request access':

  1. They will be prompted to give a reason as to why access is needed.
  2. The owner of the relevant security certificate - typically a System Administrator - will see a popup on the Start Page prompting them to grant or deny access to the individual.

If access is granted, the individual will be added to the certificate's list of permitted users and the relevant permission will be granted.

Troubleshooting

If you or a user in your organisation is receiving an access denied message, but you're not sure how to rectify this, please raise a support request with the following information included:

  • The exact username of the user receiving the access denied message (i.e. sc.jsmith)
  • The error message in red (i.e. you do not have the right to modify the patient's demographic record).
  • Steps to produce this message (i.e. after clicking on personal details for patient ID 1642).

When I click 'request access', I get the following error message: 'cross-company access denied'.

It's likely that the security certificate you are requesting access to belongs to a different chamber. Please raise a support request with the above information included (the username, error message, and steps to produce the message)